Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About fourteen years ago I was perusing around a local video store that catered to underground, cult and hard to find films on VHS. You see, DVD was just coming into vogue and I hadn’t yet purchased a player, although I did own a pretty hefty laserdisc collection. However, it was on this excursion that I discovered Hugh Gallagher’s 1993 little known gem, “Gorotica”–and I haven’t really been the same since.

The story concerns two bank/jewelry robbers who manage to escape the police from a heist, only for one of them to be mortally wounded in the process. Neil, the one left standing, then meets a young goth girl named Carrie, who in turn makes him a proposition. She’ll allow Neil to crash (and hide) at her apartment if he allows Carrie to have her way with his dead partner. He hesitantly agrees.

What transpires after that is a prolonged nightmare of twists, double crosses and sickening revelations–and I was left speechless by the end.

“Gorotica” runs a quick 60 minutes and is only available on VHS. If you can manage to track it down, it’s well worth it.

Keep in mind though that the budget is practically nonexistent, but that only enhances the sheer insanity of it all.

Let me know your thoughts if you see it.

